Unrelated to anything

I’m thinking of you right now and I am dying. I’m picturing you and I am dying. I am remembering and I am dying.

I died a thousand deaths on that Thursday years ago.

It has been so long.

So long…

I see your face when I close my eyes, still.

I feel your breath and feel the warmth of your hair on my chest. I feel it still.

I cry. I cry and I look at myself, focused on the tears as they run.

I breath, and feel myself stealing your breath as you steal mine.

I close my eyes and I see your face. I feel your touch; hear your whisper; taste your lips again.

I open my eyes and I see your face. I see you turn away; feel your distance; hear your silence.

Another sip.

I close my eyes again and the world has stopped. I quiet the world around me. I breath again.

I imagine today and regret tomorrow. I look at my past with disdain and with longing.

I ask the night for comfort.

I gaze upon the night sky and think on my regrets…and laugh and cry at the absurdity of it all.

Leave a Reply

